Cover musings …

I just released a collection of shorts, see here AmazonSmashwordsKoboBNGoogle Play. Stories range from fantasy to absurdist tales to somber literary turns, and so it has been especially hard to decide on a good strong image for the cover.  I took advantage of the free christmas giveaways of premade covers hosted by the skilled Clarissa Yeo of http://www.bookcoversale.com.  I got this below.

birdsoffortune

A simple cover that probably too staid and doesn’t quite reflect the darkly comic tone of the book, but it gets the job done. But something more dramatic is probably needed to attract more eyeballs to the short story collections. Short stories are notoriously hard to sell on the kindle after all.

I had tried with this cover. Nothing to boast about, but I do like the grumpy look of the duck.  I should mention I got that off the flickr, photo credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/tambako/6128825007/

angry bird of fortunelowquality

I was looking through this photoshop tutorial, and I modified it a bit. Ducks came from flickr, photo credit:  nezihdurmazlar.com. The castle from nightstock.deviantart.com.

duck and guns

As you can see, making covers are better left to professionals, but it’s fun all the same to play with covers.

Leave a Reply

