Love and Go

So I wrote a story featuring a gay love story centered around the game of go, Love and Go, read the first act here http://www.wattpad.com/story/8148106-love-and-go

As far as I know, there are two mainstream novels that features go.  There’s Master of Go by Yasunari Kawabata.  the author won the nobel prize in literature incidentally.  I highly recommend that book.
There is another mainstream novel about go, The Girl Who Played Go by Shan Sa.  I have not read it myself.  If you have, please tell me what you think about it.

As for my book,  it just seemed that friendship and perhaps love is a very natural thing to happen  over a game of go.  I can’t claim brilliant insights into the game or some of the deeper themes that you would find say in Master of Go.  My ambitions were a lot more modest.  What you’ll find instead is just a drama about emotionally troubled characters who happen to like to play a bit of go. But I do hope it’s engaging or the very least entertaining.  I suppose, I’ll learn soon enough.

But I enjoyed writing this very much.  It turns out when my mind has a symbol, or an object to work with, then ideas flows much more easily.  It was fun integrating go into the emotional life of the protagonists. Lateral thinking can lead you to strange corridors.

I thought several times of making the main relationship straight for a wider appeal. In the end I decided, the story was conceived organically with gay characters, and so I’ll just keep that way.  When this is finished, I’ll have to think of another story has go and a straight main relationship.

Leave a Reply

