Origami at everydayfiction

Ok I published  short story, Origami.    I had written it in a few hours, after reading  the shipping news by Annie Proulx.  At the time, I was just thinking about writing in simple sentences.  It ended up being a complex whimsical piece about change. I was incredibly surprised that people liked it the piece.  Anyway, it was published, I did not check the reviews until two months later.  It received low ratings, 2.8 out of 5.  Apparently, it was a bit hard to understand.  But the written reviews were mostly very positive.  I suppose it split readers, those who thought it was  pretentious string of words or those who liked the complexity.  http://www.everydayfiction.com/origami-by-wanda-wande/

Since then, I have not written much flash.  Hunting for ideas and coming up with unique twists aren’t natural for me.  Either it is a burst of inspiration or I must have been thinking about it for a long long time before putting words to paper.  Furthermore, it has been harder for me to sit down and concentrate.  So I have a lot of first paragraphs of flash pieces.

Anyway, take a look at the piece and I hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

